4 Walls and 4 Corners

by coreyholland86

4 Walls And 4 Corners

Bang!

Bang!

Bang!

Someone’s,

Knocking at my door.

Who could that be?

No one visits anymore.

Now that I was confused,

And completely unsure.

I felt I had to prove,

That I wasn’t afraid of the door.

Taking one step at a time,

Slowly as I crept.

I was surprised to find,

A man  I had never met.

I opened up and saw,

A tall man standing there,

He had a southern draw,

And a grin from ear to ear.

The man in the suit,

Said “Son don’t you know?

We’re putting a highway through,

And this place has got to go.”

Quick I tried to grab my things,

As He became rude.

Does he know I’m wondering,

Where am I to move?

With the last boxed stowed,

And everything packed neat.

They tore down that home,

To make their fancy street.

Driving down the road,

I saw a place for rent.

4 Walls, and 4 Corners,

I said this place will do in a pinch.

The man at the hotel,

Knew exactly what to do.

He said “I’m sorry I heard,

They’re putting a highway through.”

Walking to my room,

My neighbor pulled up next.

They’re putting a highway through,

Thats what the told the rest.

Are we stuck here in this room?

Which path are we to choose.

Has all our hope been lost?

Now with nothing left to lose.

The walls are closing in,

No exit left in view,

How long has it been?

Since there was no Gloom.

Our whole life and our world,

Stuck here in one place,

No path left for us to follow,

No step left to retrace.

Wandering here all alone,

How can a box be this big,

Why are we left to roam?

was it the things that we did?

4 walls, and 4 corners,

No sign of a door,

I’ve lived in smaller homes,

That have had plenty more.

From every single wall,

We have a different view,

No matter the lines we draw,

Our World comes unglued.

No matter where we turn,

We see a dead end.

And every bridge we burn,

Makes all the walls close in.

For if we destroy our walls,

We’d have no place to live.

With all these man made laws,

Something has got to give.

Yet when we’re on our path,

We get a little space.

And as the walls retract,

Freedom we can taste.

But,

No matter the deed that’s done,

Or how long we wait,

For some one to come,

And save us from this fate.

4 walls, and 4 corners,

No sign of a door,

And then we look up,

A new World to explore.

image